Magnifico Milan !

I’ve had an anything but mundane two weeks in Prague, Turin, Milan and environs.

With so much rich art, culture, heritage and beauty around, I was hard pressed both in time and opportunity to find anything  to meet Photrabloggers challenge.  Since I was clicking away like crazy, I was surprised that nothing seemed to fit the challenge so I decided to google Mundane.

OK .. .. here it is … ” Mundane  –  routine, ordinary, everyday, run-of-the mill, customary  …. earthy, material,  non-spiritual.

No wonder then I found it difficult.  The last two weeks was anything but run of the mill.  Definitely not my routine everyday experience, and definitely (many times over) not not-spiritual !!  I mean .. those magnificent churches, castles, architecture, works of art by Renaissance masters that transcend everyday terrestrial experiences.  New faces, new people, new cultures  .. all novel and unique. Nothing mundane for me there 🙂

But I had missed two challenges so decided that perhaps the apartments I saw daily in the last week would bring in the ‘routine’ element for mundane.  Even though I found them fascinating … wondering at the type of lifestyle the Milanese lived behind them – they could probably pass the test for mundane everyday living so here I go :

View from our bedroom window :

2015-06-07 Milan 2015 009

Some apartments on the street in the Primaticcio District of Milan where we stayed :

I do not like to be around high rise buildings but these seemed different.  Multi-storied but not high rise! There were plenty of open spaces in between, with parks, gardens and playing fields

Basketball  and soccer court

Basketball and soccer court. The older kids played basketball whilst the small ones played soccer between their legs. Wish I had taken a photo .. so busy looking on!!!

20150530_195219 (2)

Church and open court yard. Buildings and shops all around. We stayed in the orange building behind the Church Steeple.

And I found that the Milanese like to have flowers and plants even in apartments –  or beautiful gardens to look down on. Their view will change with the seasons. Mundane and beautiful !!!!

20150530_182023

Fragrant plants are everywhere giving off a heady perfume into the atmosphere !!

20150530_195143_001

I doubt I would like to live in Milan  … it’s not what I am used to.  I need to come down to earth – literally 🙂 from high rise buildings and works of art that take you to dizzy heights.   But with its heritage and art, Da Vinci’s Last Supper,  and its Duomo amongst many others,

Milan is magnifico !!! 

And I could not just give you one mundane picture 🙂  even though I tried !!!

12 thoughts on “Magnifico Milan !

  1. Pingback: Mundane Monday Challenge #12 | PhoTrablogger

    • Milan was anything but mundane tho my pictures are … 🙂 It was not on my ‘to go list’ but grabbed a super half price fare from Qatar Air promoting Expo 2015 and Shroud of Turin nearby. Have learnt to watch for these specials so I can travel more. And, am trying to click too !!

      Like

  2. Mundane pictures don’t seem so “mundane” when associated with the idea of Milan …. A slice of life from Milan or Prague or anywhere far from home always seem colored by exoticism, especially to a homebody like me. Hope you share some of your less “terrestrial” pictures on future posts – That would be MAGNIFICO 🙂

    Like

    • Nice to hear from you. Realised I had not seen anything from you for a while and passed by your site to check how I had missed something. Yes … you have been a bit quiet but I see you have a beautiful reflective post a couple of days ago. Always plenty of food for thought.

      Like

Leave a comment ...

